Brown University Physician Named NAFC Continence Care Champion

NAFC presented Deborah Myers, MD, with its Rodney Appell Continence Care Champion Award on October 4, 2012.

October 29, 2012 (CHARLESTON, SC) - The National Association For Continence presented Deborah Myers, MD, with its Rodney Appell Continence Care Champion Award at the American Urogynecologic Society's (AUGS) Annual Scientific Meeting in Chicago on October 4, 2012. NAFC's executive director, Nancy Muller, PhD, presented the award.

Dr. Myers is the division director of urogynecology in the Department of Obstetrics & Gynecology at Brown University and Women & Infants Hospital of Rhode Island. Before becoming a professor at Brown University, Myers held academic appointments at Harvard University and University of Connecticut. She is recognized for her excellence in teaching, having lectured nationally and internationally and authored two chapters in textbooks, one on interstitial cystitis and another on stress urinary incontinence.

A supporter of evidence-based research, Dr. Myers has received praise from her peers. She won first prize in Scientific Research at the 2003 American Association of Gynecologic Laparoscopists (AAGL) meeting for her paper on the effectiveness of combined endoscopically-injected bulking agents for intrinsic sphincter deficiency and took home two prizes at the 2004 American Congress of Obstetricians and Gynecologists (ACOG) meeting for papers on risk for bladder injury in women associated with complex deliveries. Wanting to improve patient safety, for over a decade Myers continues to serve by appointment on the National Institutes of Health (NIH) Data and Safety Monitoring Board for the Urinary Incontinence Treatment Network.

"Dr. Myers is the obvious choice for the Continence Care Champion Award. I am honored to know her and to have served with her while she assumed various roles on the AUGS Board of Directors, including AUGS president," said Anthony Visco, MD, division chief of urogynecology at Duke University Medical Center and current president of AUGS. "Deb is known for her insight, integrity, judgment and honesty. She serves as a role model for junior faculty and peers by working to improve guidelines and treatment options for women not only through her medical practice but by advocating on their behalf as well. She has served actively on the AUGS Foundation Board, given her passion for research in the area of pelvic floor disorders."

Established in 2000 to recognize health care providers who serve as role models to other for outstanding contributions in research, education and clinical practice, NAFC's Rodney Appell Continence Care Champion Award rises awareness among a variety of professional societies and elevates the importance of addressing in incontinence. A listing of all past award recipients can be found on NAFC's website, in the Hall of Fame. Renamed in memory of Dr. Rodney Appell in 2009, this award is in honor of Dr. Appell's dedication to patient education and advocacy. A special educational fund, created to help continue Dr. Appell's legacy, has been established by NAFC.

Media Contact:
Steve Gregg, PhD
Exceutive Director