Rodney Appell Continence Care Champion

Hall of Fame

Established in 2000 to recognize health care providers who excel in the area of diagnosis, treatment, and management, the Continence Care Champion Award raises awareness and elevates the importance of addressing incontinence in clinical practice. Chosen among nominees ranging from freestanding, private practices to groups of departments working collaboratively across an entire medical center complex, this award recognizes an outstanding clinic or individual on the basis of contributions to research, clinical practice standards, and education in the field of incontinence. For the majority of the awards, individuals are nominated by members of the society and an award recipient is then selected by representatives of NAFC’s Board of Directors. However, for awards presented to members of the American Academy of Family Physicians, the process is open nationwide such that practitioners and patients alike may nominate a candidate who is subsequently chosen by a specially selected group from the NAFC Board of Directors.

In 2009, the Continence Care Champion award was renamed the Rodney Appell Continence Care Champion Award in memory of Rodney Appell, MD. Click here to read tributes to Dr. Appell.

For a list of the different societies who have played a part in nominating Continence Care Champions, please click here.

American Urogynecologic Society (AUGS)
2000 John Delancey, MD
2001 Linda Brubaker, MD
2002 Donald Ostergard, MD
2003 Peggy Norton, MD
2004 Tom Benson, MD
2005 Lewis Wall, MD, DPhil
2006 Anne Weber, MD, MS
2007 Kathryn Burgio, PhD
2008 Holly E. Richter, PhD, MD
2009 Matthew Barber, MD, MPH
2010 Ingrid Nygaard, MD
2011 Dee Fenner, MD
2012 Deborah Myers, MD

2013 Mickey Karram, MD

Society for Urodynamics & Female Urology (SUFU)

2000 Ananias Diokno, MD
2005 Jerry Blaivis, MD
2007 Edward McGuire, MD
2008 Rodney Appell, MD
2009 Roger Dmochowski, MD
2010 Shlomo Raz, MD
2011 Gamal Ghoniem, MD
2012 Philippe Zimmern, MD
2013 E. Ann Gormley, MD

2014 Alan J. Wein, MD, FACS, PhD

American Academy of Family Physicians (AAFP)

2001 Toni Miles, MD

2005 John B. Murphy, MD
2006 Matt Toren Rosenberg, MD

Society of Urologic Nurses and Associates (SUNA)

2002 Diane Newman, RNC, MSN, CRNP
2003 Betsy Omeis, RN
2004 Karen Sasso, MS, BS
2005 Joyce Colling, PhD, RN, FAAN
2006 Cheryl LeCroy, MS, BS
2007 Angela Joseph, MSN, RN, C, CURN
2008 Shanna D. Atnip, MSN, WHNP-BC
2009 Leslie Wooldridge, MSN, RNCS, GNP-BC
2010 Francie Bernier,PhD, MSN, RNC
2011 Tamara Dickinson, RN, CRN, CCCN, BCB-PMD
2012 Margaret "Amy" Hull, RNC, MSN, WHCNP
2013 Katharine O'Dell, PhD, CNM

Association of Women's Health, Obstetric & Neonatal Nurses (AWHONN)

2002 Carolyn Sampselle, PhD
2003 Jean Wyman, PhD
2004 Molly Dougherty, PhD, RN, FAAN
2005 Andrea McCrink, MSN, RP-C, RNC




Society of Women in Urology
2001 Deborah Erickson, M
2002 Jenelle Foote, MD
2003 Kristene Whitmore, MD
2004 Lenaine Westney, MD
2005 Elizabeth Bozeman, MD
2006 Kathleen C. Kobashi, MD

American Geriatrics Society (AGS)
2003 Joseph Ouslander, MD
2004 Catherine DuBeau, MD
2008 Patricia Goode, MD
2009 Mary H. Palmer, PhD, RNC, FAAN

American Physical Therapy Association (APTA)
2002 Jane Frahm, PT
2003 Cheryl Wisinski, PT

National Association of Nurse Practitioners in Women's Health (NPWH)
2003 Diane Smith, RN, MSN, CRNP
2004 Helen Carcio, MS, BS
2005 Martha Klay, RN, MSN, APRN
2007 Diana Underwood, MS, RN-C, WHNP

The Wound, Ostomy and Continence Nurses Association (WOCN)
2004 Mikel Gray, PhD, MSN, BSN
2005 Marta Lee Krissovich, MS, RN, NP
2006 Katherine N. Moore, PhD, RN

Association of Physician Assistants in Obstetrics and Gynecology (APAOG)
2006 Paul Taylor, PA
2007 Esther McCorkindale, PA-C
2008 Breann Garbas, PA-C

Clinic or Medical Facility
2003 UCSF
2004 UNM
2005 Seton Health

Companies or Corporations
2009 Medtronic Foundation
2009 Univision Communications